Gödel Prize 2007

The Call for Nominations for the 2007 Gödel Prize has been posted here in PDF format. (Note that the information in the pdf version of the call is not identical to what follows, so if there are any discrepancies the pdf file is the official document.) The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2007.

The rules of eligibility for the Gödel Prize have changed. Somewhat older papers are now eligible, but for papers initially published in a conference proceedings, the clock begins ticking at the time of the conference publication. If you intend to submit a nomination, please notify the Gödel 2007 Award Committee Chair, John Reif via email to reif AT cs.duke.edu. Please put "Goedel07" on the "Subject" line of your message.

Based on the recommendations of an ad hoc committee, the new rules have been endorsed by the EATCS President and the SIGACT Chair in November 2004 and effective now. For the rules which governed the first 12 awards (1993 to 2004), click here. The new rules are stated below. New language affecting eligibility and the nomination process is highlighted in boldface. Minor editorial changes have not been highlighted. Please send your editorial comments to Laci Babai, laciATcs.uchicago.edu. Please put "Goedel rules" on the "Subject" line of your message. The new rules will be reviewed after three cycles.

Gödel Prize

The Gödel Prize for outstanding papers in the area of theoretical computer science is sponsored jointly by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and the Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM-SIGACT). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages, and Programming (ICALP) and the ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC). The fifteenth presentation will take place during STOC 2007, San Diego, California, June 11 to 13, 2007. The Prize is named in honor of Kurt G\ufffddel in recognition of his major contributions to mathematical logic and of his interest, discovered in a letter he wrote to John von Neumann shortly before Neumann's death, in what has become the famous "P versus NP" question.

The Prize includes an award of $5000.


Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific community. A nomination should contain a brief summary of the technical content of each nominated paper and a brief explanation of its significance. A copy of the research paper or papers should accompany the nomination. The nomination must state the bibliographic data of the first (preliminary) conference publication of the main results or state that no conference publication has occurred.

The work may be in any language. However, if it is not in English, a more extended summary written in English should be enclosed. Additional recommendations in favor of the nominated work may also be enclosed. To be considered for the award, the paper or series of papers must be recommended by at least two individuals, either in the form of two distinct nominations or one nomination including recommendations from two different people. It is the duty of the Award Committee to actively solicit nominations from as broad a spectrum of the theoretical computer science community as possible, so as to ensure that potential award-winning papers are not overlooked. To this end, the Award Committee will accept informal proposals for potential nominees, as well as tentative offers to prepare formal nominations, should they be needed to fulfill the requirements that the paper have two separate recommendations. Those intending to submit a nomination are encouraged to contact the Award Committee Chair well in advance.


Any research paper or series of research papers by a single author or by a team of authors is deemed eligible if the paper was published in a recognized refereed journal before nomination but the main results were not published (in either preliminary or final form) in a journal or conference proceedings 14 or more years before the year of the award. This extended period is in recognition of the fact that the value of fundamental work cannot always be immediately assessed. A conference publication starts the clock because it often is the most effective means of bringing the results to the attention of the community.

The research work nominated for the award should be in the area of theoretical computer science. The term "theoretical computer science" is meant in a broad sense, and encompasses, but is not restricted to, those areas covered by ICALP and STOC. The Award Committee shall have the ultimate authority to decide whether a particular paper is eligible for the Prize.

Award Committee

The winner of the Prize is selected by a committee of six members. The EATCS President and the SIGACT Chair each appoint three members to the committee, to serve staggered three-year terms. The committee is chaired alternately by representatives of EATCS and SIGACT. The 2007 Gödel Prize Committee consists of

  • John Reif, Duke University (Chair)
  • Volker Diekert, Universität Stuttgart
  • Shafi Goldwasser, MIT and Weizmann Institute
  • Christos Papadimitriou, UC Berkeley
  • Colin Stirling, University of Edinburgh
  • Paul Vitanyi, CWI, Amsterdam

Selection Process

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the theoretical computer science community at large, the Award Committee is solely responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The prize may be shared by more than one paper or series of papers, and the Award Committee reserves the right to declare no winner at all. All matters relating to the selection process that are not specified here are left to the discretion of the Award Committee.

Award Winners

e-max.it: your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.