Presburger Award for Young Scientists 2020 - Call for Nominations

Deadline: 15 February 2020

Starting in 2010, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) established the Presburger Award. The Award is conferred annually at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers. The Award is named after Mojzesz Presburger who accomplished his path-breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nom- inated scientists have to be at most 35 years old on January 1st of the year of the nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2020 the birth year should be 1984 or later). The Presburger Award Committee of 2020 consists of Thore Husfeldt (Lund University and IT University of Copenhagen), Meena Mahajan (The Insti- tute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai) and Anca Muscholl (LaBRI, Bordeaux, chair). Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the re- spective papers, as well as additional supporting letters, should be sent by e-mail to:

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

The subject line of every nomination should start with Presburger Award 2020, and the message must be received before February 15th, 2020.

The award includes an amount of 1000 Euro and an invitation to ICALP 2020 for a lecture.

Previous Winners:
MikoĊ‚aj Bojanczyk, 2010

Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, 2011

Venkatesan Guruswami and Mihai Patrascu, 2012

Erik Demaine, 2013

David Woodruff, 2014

Xi Chen, 2015

Mark Braverman, 2016

Alexandra Silva, 2017

Aleksander Madry, 2018

Karl Bringmann and Kasper Green Larsen, 2019

Official website: your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.