MFCS 2019 - First Call for Papers

MFCS 2019 - First Call for Papers

The 44th International Symposium on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science

August 26-30, 2019, Aachen, Germany

The MFCS conference series has been organized since 1972. Traditionally, the conference moved between the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Poland, while since 2013, the conference travels around Europe. In 2019 it will take place in Germany.

MFCS is a high-quality venue for original research in all branches of theoretical computer science. The broad scope of the conference encourages interactions between researchers who might not meet at more specialized venues. MFCS 2019 consists of invited lectures and contributed talks, selected by an international program committee of researchers focusing on diverse areas of theoretical computer science. The conference will be accompanied by workshops.


- Jérôme Leroux (LaBRI, Talence) - Daniel Lokshtanov (University of California at Santa Barbara (UCSB)) - Kurt Mehlhorn (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Saarbrücken) - Alexandra Silva (University College London) - Kavitah Telikepalli (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)


Submission Deadline: Monday, April 22nd, 2019 (AoE)

Notification: Wednesday, June 12th, 2019

Conference: Monday, August 26th, to Friday, August 30th, 2019

Workshops: Friday, August 30th, to Saturday, August 31st, 2019


Papers should be submitted electronically through EasyChair at

Submissions should be prepared according to the following instructions: Papers should be formatted using the LIPIcs style. Length: up to 12 pages (excluding references and an optional appendix). References and an optional appendix can go beyond the 12 pages (the appendix will be consulted at the discretion of the program committee). It is mandatory to use pdflatex.

No prior publication or simultaneous submission to other conferences or journals are allowed (except preprint repositories such as arXiv or workshops without formal published proceedings).


MFCS 2019 proceedings will be published in LIPIcs (Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics) under an open source license (as in previous years).


We encourage submission of original research papers in all areas of theoretical computer science, including (but not limited to) the following:

- algebraic and co-algebraic methods in computer science - algorithms and data structures - automata and formal languages - bioinformatics - combinatorics on words, trees, and other structures - computational complexity (structural and model-related) - computational geometry - computer-aided verification - computer-assisted reasoning - concurrency theory - cryptography and security - databases and knowledge-based systems - formal specifications and program development - foundations of computing - logics in computer science - mobile computing - models of computation - networks (incl. wireless, sensor, ad-hoc networks) - parallel and distributed computing - quantum computing - semantics and verification of programs - theoretical issues in artificial intelligence - types in computer science




- Peter Rossmanith (RWTH Aachen University, chair) - Pinar Heggernes (University of Bergen, co-chair) - Joost-Pieter Katoen (RWTH Aachen University, co-chair) - Nathalie Bertrand (INRIA) - Benedikt Bollig (LSV, ENS Cachan, CNRS) - Marthe Bonamy (CNRS, LaBRI, Bordeaux) - Flavia Bonomo (Universidad de Buenos Aires) - Franck van Breugel (University of York) - Véronique Bruyère (University of Mons) - Tiziana Calamoneri (Sapienza University of Rome) - Supratik Chakraborty (IIT Bombay) - Christophe Crespelle (Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1) - Pedro R. D'Argenio (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba) - Khaled Elbassioni (Masdar Institute) - Edith Elkind (University of Oxford) - Leah Epstein (University of Haifa) - Henning Fernau (Univ. Trier) - Dana Fisman (University of Pennsylvania) - Fedor Fomin (Department of Informatics, University of Bergen) - Serge Gaspers (UNSW Sydney and Data61, CSIRO) - Archontia Giannopoulou (TU Berlin) - Konrad Kazimierz Dabrowski (Durham University) - Eun Jung Kim (CNRS - Paris Dauphine) - Erik Jan van Leeuwen (Utrecht University) - Radu Mardare (Aalborg University) - Arnaud Mary (LBBE) - Roland Meyer (TU Braunschweig) - Martin Milanič (UP IAM and UP FAMNIT, University of Primorska) - Neeldhara Misra (Indian Institute of Science) - Andrzej Murawski (University of Oxford) - Michał Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw) - Sridharan Ramanujan (Vienna University of Technology) - Dieter Rautenbach (University of Ulm) - Felix Reidl (University of London) - Davide Sangiorgi (University of Bologna) - Ignasi Sau (CNRS, LIRMM, Montpellier) - Lutz Schröder (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) - Hadas Shachnai (Technion) - Mahsa Shirmohammadi (CNRS & LIS) - Pawel Sobocinski (University of Southampton) - B Srivathsan (Chennai Mathematical Institute) - Ryuhei Uehara (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology) - Tarmo Uustalu (Reykjavik University) - Igor Walukiewicz (CNRS, LaBRI) - Mingsheng Ying (University of Technology, Sydney) - Meirav Zehavi (Ben-Gurion University)



- Birgit Willms (chair) - Jan Dreier - Phillip Kuinke - Jip Spel - Matthias Volk



The conference will be held in the SuperC Building of RWTH Aachen University near the city center of Aachen, Germany.



All questions about submissions should be emailed to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.