ESA 2018 - Call for papers

26th Annual European Symposium on Algorithms - ESA 2018 20-22 August 2018, Helsinki, Finland

Submission deadline: 22.04.2018

The European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA) is one of the premier conferences on algorithms. The symposium covers research in all aspects of the design, analysis, engineering, and application of algorithms and data structures. ESA 2018 will be part of ALGO 2018, which also hosts ALGOCLOUD, ALGOSENSORS, ATMOS, IPEC, WABI, and WAOA.

Call for papers

The symposium seeks original algorithmic contributions for problems with relevant theoretical and/or practical applications: papers with a strong emphasis on the theoretical analysis of algorithms should be submitted to Track A, while papers reporting on the results of extensive experimental evaluations and/or providing original contributions to the engineering of algorithms for practical applications should be submitted to Track B. For Track B, ESA 2018 will conduct an experiment with two independent PCs, both of which will follow the usual procedure for reviewing the submissions. More details about the experiment are provided on this webpage:

There will be a Best Student Paper Award as well as a Best Paper Award, both sponsored by EATCS. In order for a paper to be considered for the Best Student Paper Award, all of its authors are required to be students.



Papers presenting original research in all areas of algorithmic research are sought, including but not limited to:

Algorithm engineering Algorithmic aspects of networks Algorithmic game theory Approximation algorithms Computational biology Computational finance Computational geometry Combinatorial optimization Data compression Data structures Databases and information retrieval Distributed and parallel computing Graph algorithms Hierarchical memories Heuristics and meta-heuristics Mathematical programming Mobile computing On-line algorithms Parameterized algorithms Pattern matching Quantum computing Randomized algorithms Scheduling and resource allocation problems Streaming algorithms


Important dates

Submission deadline: 22 April 2018 (Sunday, AoE)

Notification deadline: 18 June 2018

Final version deadline: 28 June 2018

ESA 2018 symposium: 20-22 August 2018

ALGO 2018 conference: 20-24 August 2018

Submission and proceedings Papers should be submitted electronically via the EasyChair submission system:

Track A:

Track B:

Please follow our submission guidelines. Detailed submission guidelines can be found at:

ESA 2018 proceedings will be published in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs) series, based at Schloss Dagstuhl. The proceedings chair is Grzegorz Herman, Jagiellonian University, Poland.


Keynote speakers

  • Claire Mathieu · ENS Paris
  • Tim Roughgarden · Stanford

    Program committee


    Track A (Design and Analysis Track)

  • Yossi Azar (chair) · Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • Petra Berenbrink · University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Shuchi Chawla · University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Flavio Chierichetti · Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • Ashish Chiplunkar · EPFL, Switzerland
  • George Christodoulou · University of Liverpool, UK
  • Samuel Fiorini · Université libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
  • Cyril Gavoille · University of Bordeaux, France
  • Loukas Georgiadis · University of Ioannina, Greece
  • Anupam Gupta · Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Danny Hermelin · Ben Gurion University, Israel
  • Zhiyi Huang · University of Hong Kong, China
  • Satoru Iwata · University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Klaus Jansen · University of Kiel, Germany
  • Thomas Kesselheim · TU Dortmund, Germany
  • Lukasz Kowalik · University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Sebastian Krinninger · University of Salzburg, Austria
  • Amit Kumar · IIT Delhi, India
  • Daniel Lokshtanov · University of Bergen, Norway
  • Konstantin Makarychev · Northwestern University, USA
  • Debmalya Panigrahi · Duke University, USA
  • Merav Parter · Weizmann Institute, Israel
  • Christian Scheideler · Paderborn University, Germany
  • Bettina Speckmann · TU Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • Subhash Suri · University of California Santa Barbara, USA
  • Csaba D. Tóth · Cal State Northridge, USA
  • Gerhard Woeginger · RWTH Aachen, Germany
  • Christian Wulff-Nilsen · University of Copenhagen, Denmark

    Track B (Engineering and Application Track)

  • Martin Aumüller · IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Hannah Bast (chair) · University of Freiburg, Germany
  • Christina Büsing · RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Pierluigi Crescenzi · University of Florence, Italy
  • Veronica Gil-Costa · Universidad Nacional de San Luis, Argentina
  • Michael T. Goodrich · University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Paolo Ferragina · University of Pisa, Italy
  • Stefan Funke · University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Inge Li Gørtz · Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Sungjin Im · University of California at Merced, USA
  • Michael Kerber · Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Silvio Lattanzi · Google, Switzerland
  • Jon Lee · University of Michigan, USA
  • Tamara Mchedlidze · Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Matthias Müller-Hannemann · Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany
  • Petra Mutzel · TU Dortmund University, Germany
  • Gonzalo Navarro · University of Chile, Chile
  • Richard Peng · Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Simon J. Puglisi · University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Melanie Schmidt · University of Bonn, Germany
  • Anita Schöbel · Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany
  • Chris Schwiegelshohn · Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • Sebastian Stiller · TU Braunschweig, Germany
  • Darren Strash · Colgate University, USA
  • Carola Wenk · Tulane University, USA


  • Parinya Chalermsook · Aalto University
  • Petteri Kaski · Aalto University
  • Jukka Suomela · Aalto University
  • your social media marketing partner
    European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.