EATCS Fellows class of 2017 named

The EATCS has recognized four of its members for their outstanding contributions to theoretical computer science by naming them as recipients of an EATCS fellowship.

The EATCS Fellows for 2017 are:

- Marta Kwiatkowska
- Josep Diaz
- Aravind Srinivasan
- Moti Yung

Below is suggested citations.

Marta Kwiatkowska:
For pioneering work in the development of model checking for quantitative systems and in its application to a wide range of areas, also for outstanding mentorship, and serving as a role model for female researchers in Computer Science.

Josep Diaz:
For his important scientific contributions to complexity theory and to the design and analysis of algorithms in sequential, parallel and randomised computation models, and for his service to the theoretical computer science community.

Aravind Srinivasan:
For major contributions to algorithms, the uses of randomisation in algorithms, randomness in networks, and the real-world applications of these topics.

Moti Yung:
For his outstanding innovative contributions to the Foundations of Cryptography and related Theoretical areas as well as to applications of these areas to computer security. In particular, for his tremendous efforts in concretely and decisively demonstrating the value of Theoretical Computer Science research to innovation in technology and by transferring advanced theoretical notions to industrial systems.


The aforementioned members of the EATCS were selected by the EATCS Fellow Selection Committee, after examining the nominations received from our research community. The EATCS Fellow Selection Committee for 2017 consisted of

  • Rocco De Nicola (IMT Lucca, Italy),
  • Paul Goldberg (Oxford, UK; chair),
  • Anca Muscholl (Bordeaux, France),
  • Dorothea Wagner (Karlsruhe, Germany) and
  • Roger Wattenhofer (ETH Zurich, CH).

The EATCS Fellows Program was established by the association in 2014 to recognize outstanding EATCS members for their scientific achievements in the field of Theoretical Computer Science.

The EATCS is very proud to have the above-mentioned members of the association among its fellows.

The list of EATCS Fellows is available at your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.