The 2017 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing

Nominations deadline: March 15, 2017

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing. His foundational work on concurrency, semaphores, mutual exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, self-stabilization, among many other contributions comprises one of the most important supports upon which the field of distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In 2017 it will be presented at DISC 2017 in Vienna, Austria. The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year's prize recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC proceedings of that year, describing the paper's lasting contributions.

Nominations and Eligibility:

Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific community. Each nomination must identify the paper(s) being nominated  and include a short paragraph (approximately 200 words) justifying the nomination. Papers appearing in any conference proceedings or journals are eligible, as long as they have had a significant impact on research areas of interest within the theory of distributed computing community, and as long as the year of the original publication is at least ten years prior to the year in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will not be eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can nominate papers as well. However, they must carefully consider nominations from within the community. Members of the Award Committee will be especially sensitive to conflict-of-interests issues if papers by former students or close colleagues are nominated (members of the Award Committee cannot nominate such papers themselves).

Your nomination must be sent to the chair of the Award Committee of this year, Alex Schwarzmann ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ). The nominations deadline is March 15, 2017.

Selection Process:

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is solely responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The prize may be shared by more than one paper.  All matters relating to the selection process that are not specified here are left to the discretion of the Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found
at or

Award Committee 2017:
Marcos K. Aguilera                VMware Research, USA
Alessandro Panconesi           University of Rome Sapienza, Italy
Andrzej Pelc                           Université du Québec en Outaouais, Canada
Andrea Richa                          Arizona State University, USA
Alex Schwarzmann, Chair      University of Connecticut, USA
Roger Wattenhofer                 ETH Zurich, Switzerland your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.