Presburger Award for Young Scientists 2017

Call for Nominations

Deadline: December 31st, 2016

Starting in 2010, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) established the Presburger Award. The Award is conferred annually at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers. The Award is named after Mojzesz Presburger who accomplished his path-breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years at the time of the deadline of nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2017 the date of birth should be in 1981 or later). The Presburger Award Committee of 2017 consists of Stephan Kreutzer (TU Berlin), Marta Kwiatkowska (Oxford, chair) and Jukka Suomela (Aalto).

Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letters, should be sent by e-mail to:

Marta Kwiatkowska This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

The subject line of every nomination should start with Presburger Award 2017, and the message must be received before December 31st, 2016.

The award includes an amount of 1000 Euro and an invitation to ICALP 2017 for a lecture.

Previous Winners: MikoĊ‚aj Bojanczyk, 2010 Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, 2011 Venkatesan Guruswami and Mihai Patrascu, 2012 Erik Demaine, 2013 David Woodruff, 2014 Xi Chen, 2015 Mark Braverman, 2016

Official website: your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.