MFCS 2016: First Call for Papers

41st International Symposium on
Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science

Krakow, Poland, August 22--26, 2016



MFCS is a well-established venue for presenting high-quality research from various branches of theoretical computer science. The conference provides a platform for researchers interested in different aspects of theoretical computer science to interact, exchange ideas, and present their work.

EATCS sponsors a best paper award and a best student paper award.


The conference will have five invited talks from the following speakers:

  • Shai Ben-David, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Mikołaj Bojańczyk, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, LSV, CNRS & ENS Cachan, France
  • Tobias Friedrich, Hasso Plattner Institute, Potsdam, Germany
  • Virginia Vassilevska Williams, Stanford University, USA


We invite submission of papers describing high-quality original research in all areas of theoretical computer science, including (but not limited to) the following topics:

  • algorithmic game theory
  • algorithmic learning theory
  • algorithms and data structures (incl. sequential, parallel distributed, randomized, approximation, graph, network, on-line, parameterized, optimization algorithms)
  • automata and formal languages
  • bioinformatics
  • combinatorics on words, trees, and other structures
  • computational complexity (structural and model-related)
  • computational geometry
  • computer-assisted reasoning
  • concurrency theory
  • cryptography and security
  • databases and knowledge-based systems
  • formal specifications and program development
  • foundations of computing
  • logic, algebra and categories in computer science
  • mobile computing
  • models of computation
  • networks (incl. wireless, sensor, ad-hoc networks)
  • parallel and distributed computing
  • quantum computing
  • semantics and verification of programs
  • theoretical issues in artificial intelligence
  • types in computer science

Paper submission is electronic via the conference website. Papers should not exceed 12 pages in LIPIcs style (excluding the references and an optional appendix).


The MFCS 2016 conference proceedings will be published in Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs), a series of high-quality conference proceedings across all fields in informatics established in cooperation with Schloss Dagstuhl – Leibniz Center for Informatics. (Note that MFCS has moved to LIPIcs from Springer's LNCS series.) The proceeding will be published under the Creative Commons CC-BY license (CC-BY 3.0 DE). This means that the authors retain their copyright and the proceedings will be freely accessible.


  • Abstract submission deadline: April 21st, 2016
  • Paper submission deadline: April 25th, 2016
  • Notification of authors: June 5th, 2016
  • Camera-ready copies due: June 15th, 2016
  • Early registration deadline: July 5th, 2016
  • Late registration deadline: August 5th, 2016
  • Conference dates: August 22-26, 2016



  • Piotr Faliszewski (AGH Krakow, Poland, chair)
  • Anca Muscholl (Université Bordeaux, France, co-chair)
  • Rolf Niedermeier (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany, co-chair)

Program Committee

  • Luca Aceto (Reykjavik University, Iceland)
  • Eric Allender (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Christer Bäckström (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Arnold Beckmann (Swansea University, UK)
  • Philip Bille (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)
  • Tomas Brazdil (Masaryk University, Czech Republic)
  • Laurent Bulteau (University Lyon 1, France)
  • Edith Cohen (Google, USA)
  • Veronique Cortier (CNRS, Loria, France)
  • Mark De Berg (TU Eindhoven, Netherlands)
  • Gabriele Di Stefano (University of L'Aquila, Italy)
  • Alain Finkel (LSV, ENS Cachan & CNRS, France)
  • Vojtech Forejt (Oxford University, UK)
  • Laurent Gourves (Lamsade, France)
  • Jarek Grytczuk (Jagiellonian University, Poland)
  • Martin Hoefer (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Germany)
  • Artur Jeż (University of Wroclaw, Poland)
  • Dietrich Kuske (TU Ilmenau, Germany)
  • Jérôme Lang (Lamsade, France)
  • Sophie Laplante (Université Paris Diderot Paris 7, France)
  • Sławomir Lasota (Warsaw University, Poland)
  • Helger Lipmaa (University of Tartu, Estonia)
  • Markus Lohrey (University of Siegen, Germany)
  • Veli Mäkinen (University of Helsinki, Finland)
  • Wim Martens (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Joel Ouaknine (Oxford University, UK)
  • Katarzyna Paluch (University of Wroclaw, Poland)
  • Doron Peled (Bar Ilan University, Israel)
  • Maria Polukarov (University of Southampton, UK)
  • Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (Universita' di Torino, Italy)
  • Pierluigi San Pietro (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Sven Schewe (University of Liverpool, UK)
  • Henning Schnoor (University of Kiel, Germany)
  • Maria Serna (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)
  • Martin Skutella (TU Berlin, Germany)
  • Daniel Stefankovic (University of Rochester, USA)
  • Frank Stephan (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Christino Tamon (Clarkson University, USA)
  • Mirek Truszczynski (University of Kentucky, USA)
  • Emilio Tuosto (University of Leicester, UK) your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.