CCC'16: Call for Papers

Submission Deadline: Monday, November 23, 2015, 5:00pm EST


The conference seeks original research papers in all areas of computational complexity theory, studying the absolute and relative power of computational models under resource constraints. We also encourage contributions from other areas of computer science and mathematics motivated by topics in complexity theory. Possible topics include but are not limited to:

  • Complexity classes
  • Circuit complexity
  • Algebraic complexity
  • Proof complexity
  • Interactive and probabilistic proof systems
  • Complexity in other concrete computational models
  • Reducibility and completeness
  • Logic and descriptive complexity
  • Average case complexity
  • Communication complexity
  • Complexity of optimization, including inapproximability
  • Complexity and cryptography
  • Complexity and learning
  • Complexity and coding theory
  • Complexity and sublinear computation
  • Pseudorandomness and derandomization
  • Quantum computation
  • Submission

Deadlines: Papers must be submitted electronically via the submission server, and received by November 23, 2015, 5:00pm EST. Notification of acceptance will be sent by February 6, 2016, and final camera-ready copies of accepted papers will be due around mid-March 2015.

Format: Submissions should start with a title page consisting of the title of the paper; each author's name, affiliation, and email address; and an abstract of 1-2 paragraphs summarizing the paper's contributions. A submission must contain within its first 10 pages a clear presentation of the merits of the paper, including discussion of its importance, prior work, and an outline of key technical ideas and methods used to achieve the main claims. There is no bound on the total length of a submission, but material other than the abstract, references, and the first 10 pages is considered as supplementary.

Submissions should include proofs of all central claims.

The submission should be in single-column format, use at least 11-point font, and have standard margins and spacing between lines. Submissions deviating from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Instructions for formatting camera-ready versions will be communicated to the authors of accepted papers.

Simultaneous submission policy: Material which has been previously published in a journal or another conference proceedings, or which is scheduled for publication prior to June 2016, will not be considered for acceptance.  Simultaneous submission of the same or essentially the same material to another conference with published proceedings is not allowed.

Confidentiality: All submissions will be treated as confidential, and will only be disclosed to the committee and their chosen sub-referees.


Online posting: Authors are encouraged to post full versions of their submissions in a freely accessible on-line repository such as the Electronic Colloquium on Computational Complexity or the arXiv. It is hoped that authors of accepted papers will make full versions of their papers, publicly available by the camera-ready deadline.

Proceedings: Conference proceedings will be published under a Creative Commons BY license in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs) series. Publication in the conference proceedings does not preclude subsequent journal publication.

Presentation: Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their work at the conference. The program committee will determine time allocations for presentations (between 15 and 45 minutes).


Best student paper award: This award will be given to the best paper written solely by one or more students. A paper is eligible if all authors are full-time students at the time of submission deadline. The online submission form contains a check box for authors to indicate that this criterion is satisfied. The program committee may decline to make the award or may split it among several papers. Funding for the best student paper award is provided by EATCS.

Best paper award: This award will be given to the best paper submitted to the conference as judged by the program committee. The program committee may decline to make the award or may split it among two or more papers. Authors of papers that receive this award are automatically invited to publish a full version of the paper in the Journal of the ACM .

Special journal issue: The program committee will invite full versions of a select number of conference submissions to a special issue of the journal Theory of Computing.

Conference Information

Dates and location: The conference will be held from May 29th to June 1st, 2016 in Tokyo, Japan.

Travel allowances: In order to defray the costs of attending the conference, some travel allowances will be offered to students and young researchers. More information will be made available on the conference webpage in due time.

Visas: A visa for Japan may be needed for attending the conference, e.g., for citizens of China, India, and Russia. See the visa website of the Japanese government for the exact rules for short-term stay visas. If a visa is needed, please get in touch with your local Japanese consulate as soon as possible; the whole process may take several months. Feel free to contact the Tokyo local arrangements team at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it if you need a letter to obtain your visa.

Program Committee

Anindya De, Northwestern University
Prahladh Harsha, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
Neeraj Kayal, Microsoft Research
Jakob Nordström, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Toniann Pitassi, University of Toronto
Anup Rao, University of Washington
Ran Raz (chair), Weizmann Institute & Institute for Advanced Study
David Steurer, Cornell University
Thomas Vidick, California Institute of Technology
Amir Yehudayoff, Technion
Sergey Yekhanin, Microsoft Research
Local Arrangements Committee

Takashi Horiyama, Saitama University
Akinori Kawachi, Tokushima University
Takeshi Koshiba (co-chair), Saitama University
Kazuhisa Makino, Kyoto University
Osamu Watanabe (chair), Tokyo Institute of Technology
Board of Trustees

Eric Allender (Treasurer), Rutgers University
Boaz Barak, Harvard University
Venkatesan Guruswami, Carnegie Mellon University
Jeff Kinne (Secretary), Indiana State University
Dieter van Melkebeek (President), University of Wisconsin
Madhu Sudan, Microsoft Research New England
Jacobo Toran, University of Ulm
Osamu Watanabe, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Please contact Jeff Kinne. your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.