IWOCA 2015: First Call for Papers

26th International Workshop on Combinatorial Algorithms (IWOCA 2015)
Verona, Italy, 5-7 Oct. 2015

IWOCA 2015 continues the long and well-established tradition of encouraging high-quality research in theoretical computer science and providing an opportunity to bring together specialists and young researchers working in the area. The scientific program will include three invited lectures covering the areas of main interest, accepted contributed talks, posters, and an open problem session.

This year for the first time, we will have a best student paper award, sponsored by the EATCS.

Béla Bollobás, Cambridge University, UK, and University of Memphis, TN, USA
Frank Ruskey, University of Victoria, Canada
Esko Ukkonen, University of Helsinki, Finland

We solicit high-quality papers in the broad area of combinatorial algorithms. Topics include (but are not restricted to): Algorithms and Data Structures (including sequential, parallel, distributed, approximation, probabilistic, randomised, and on-line algorithms);  Algorithms on Strings and Graphs; Applications (Bioinformatics, Music Analysis, Networking, and others); Combinatorics on Words; Combinatorial Enumeration; Combinatorial Optimization; Complexity Theory; Computational Biology; Compression and Information Retrieval; Cryptography and Information Security; Decompositions and Combinatorial Designs; Discrete and Computational Geometry; Graph Drawing and Labelling; Graph Theory


The conference proceedings with invited papers and accepted contributed papers will be published after the conference as a volume of the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science. There will be a special issue of the journal Discrete Applied Mathematics with papers from the conference.

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract of no more than 12 pages in LNCS style, including references. A clearly marked Appendix can be included, which will be read at the referees’ discretion. All submissions have to be made via the EasyChair page for the conference. No simultaneous submission to other conferences with published proceedings is allowed, and submitted papers should not be under review by a journal during the whole refereeing process. At least one author of each accepted paper will be expected to attend the conference and present the paper.

The conference will take place in the historic center of Verona, which is a Unesco world heritage site. Verona is easily reachable by plane or train from anywhere in Europe.

Paper submission: June 14, 2015   (anywhere on earth)
Notification: Aug. 3, 2015
Conference: Oct. 5-7, 2015

Don Adjeroh (West Virginia University, USA)
Hideo Bannai (Kyushu University, Japan)
Paola Bonizzoni (University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy)
Gerth Stølting Brodal (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Sebastian Böcker (Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, Germany)
Charlie Colbourn (Arizona State University, USA)
Jiri Fiala (Charles University, Czech Republic)
Dalibor Froncek (University of Minnesota Duluth, USA)
Luisa Gargano (University of Salerno, Italy)
Roberto Grossi (University of Pisa, Italy)
Pinar Heggernes (University of Bergen, Norway)
Costas Iliopoulos (King’s College London, UK)
Ralf Klasing (CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France)
Christian Komusiewicz (TU Berlin, Germany)
Jan Kratochvil (Charles University, Czech Republic)
Dieter Kratsch (University of Lorraine, Metz, France)
Gad Landau (University of Haifa, Israel)
Thierry Lecroq (University of Rouen, France)
Zsuzsanna Lipták (University of Verona, Italy) – co-chair
Giovanni Manzini (University of Piemonte Orientale, Italy)
Martin Milanič (University of Primorska, Slovenia)
Mirka Miller (University of Newcastle, Australia)
Ian Munro (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Wendy Myrvold (University of Victoria, Canada)
Gonzalo Navarro (University of Chile, Chile)
Kunsoo Park (Seoul National University, South Korea)
Solon Pissis (King’s College London, UK)
Simon Puglisi (University of Helsinki, Finland)
M. Sohel Rahman (BUET, Bangladesh)
Romeo Rizzi (University of Verona, Italy)
Frank Ruskey (University of Victoria, Canada)
Bill Smyth (McMaster University, Canada) – co-chair

Gabriele Fici (University of Palermo, Italy)

Ferdinando Cicalese (University of Verona, Italy)
Giuditta Franco (University of Verona, Italy)
Rosalba Giugno (University of Catania, Italy)
Zsuzsanna Lipták (University of Verona, Italy)
Simon Puglisi (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Romeo Rizzi (University of Verona, Italy)
Ugo Solitro (University of Verona, Italy)


Costas Iliopoulos (King’s College London, UK)
Mirka Miller (University of Newcastle, Australia)
Bill Smyth (McMaster University, Canada)

The conference is organized by the Department of Computer Science of the University of Verona, in cooperation with the EATCS (European Association for Theoretical Computer Science) and AICA (Associazione Italiana per l’Informatica ed il Calcolo Automatico).

e-max.it: your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.