Call for Papers ESA'2014

22nd European Symposium on Algorithms ESA 2014
September 8 - 10, 2014, Wroclaw, Poland

The European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA) is one of the premier conferences on algorithms. The symposium covers research in all aspects of the design, analysis, engineering, and application of algorithms and data structures.

ESA 2014 has two tracks: the Design and Analysis Track (Track A) and the Engineering and Applications Track (Track B).

ESA 2014 is organized in collaboration with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and is a part of ALGO 2014.


The symposium seeks original algorithmic contributions for problems with relevant theoretical and/or practical applications: papers with
a strong emphasis on the theoretical analysis of algorithms should be submitted to Track A, while papers reporting on the results of extensive experimental evaluations and/or providing original contributions to the engineering of algorithms for practical applications should be submitted to Track B.

Papers should be submitted electronically via the EasyChair submission system.

Submission guidelines can be found at


Papers presenting original research in all areas of algorithmic research are sought, including but not limited to:

Algorithm engineering
Algorithmic aspects of networks
Algorithmic game theory
Approximation algorithms
Computational biology
Computational finance
Computational geometry
Combinatorial optimization
Data compression
Data structures
Databases and information retrieval
Distributed and parallel computing
Graph algorithms
Hierarchical memories
Heuristics and meta-heuristics
Mathematical programming
Mobile computing
On-line algorithms
Parameterized complexity
Pattern matching
Quantum computing
Randomized algorithms
Scheduling and resource allocation problems
Streaming algorithms


Submission: April 18, 2014, 23:59 UTC/GMT.
Notification of acceptance: mid-June, 2014
Final version: July 1, 2014
Symposium: September 8-10, 2014


Design and Analysis (Track A) Program Committee

Ittai Abraham, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA
Amihood Amir, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Marek Cygan, University of Warsaw, Poland
Daniel Dadush, NYU, USA
Ilias Diakonikolas, University of Edinburgh, UK
Michael Elkin, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
David Eppstein, UC Irvine, USA
Fabian Kuhn, University of Freiburg, Germany
Marc Lelarge, INRIA, France
Maarten Loffler, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Aleksander Madry, EPFL, Switzerland
Daniel Marx, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary
Shay Mozes, IDC Herzliya, Israel
Ofer Neiman, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Arlindo Oliveira, Lisbon University, Portugal
Laura Sanita, University of Waterloo, Canada
Andreas S. Schulz (chair), MIT, USA
Anastasios Sidiropoulos, Ohio State University, USA
Laszlo A. Vegh, LSE, UK
Rossano Venturini, University of Pisa, Italy
Jan Vondrak, IBM Research Almaden, USA
David P. Woodruff, IBM Research Almaden, USA
Rico Zenklusen, ETH, Switzerland

Engineering and Applications (Track B) Program Committee

Glencora Borradaile, Oregon State University, USA
Ulrik Brandes, University of Konstanz, Germany
Kevin Buchin, TU Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Markus Chimani, University of OsnabrĪŒck, Germany
Edith Cohen, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA
Giuseppe Di Battista, Third University of Rome, Italy
Dan Halperin, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Andrea Lodi, University of Bologna, Italy
Giacomo Nannicini, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
Kirk Pruhs, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Christian Sohler, TU Dortmund, Germany
Christian Sommer, Cupertino, USA
Monique Teillaud, INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France
Takeaki Uno, National Institute of Informatics Tokyo (NII), Japan
Dorothea Wagner (chair), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.