

Dear colleagues,

First of all, let me wish you a very happy 2018. I hope that this will be a healthy and fruitful year for all of you.

At the beggining of the year, we received the great news that the EATCS Council Member, Professor Thomas Schwentick, is the President of EACSL (since January).

The organization of the 45th ICALP conference which will be held in Prague, Czech Republic is proceeding well.

I hope that many of you have submitted their best work to ICALP 2018 (deadline: Friday, 16 February 2018).

ICALP 2018 will feature four invited talks delivered by Jaroslav Nesetril (Charles University, Czech Republic), Alexander Schwarzmann (University of Connecticut, USA), Sam Staton (Oxford University, UK) and Ryan Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA).

The EATCS Award 2018, the Gödel Prize 2018, the Alonzo Church Award 2018 and the Presburger Award 2018 will all be presented at the conference, during which we will also honour the EATCS Fellows vintage 2018 and the recipients of the EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Awards for doctoral theses in theoretical computer science that were defended in 2017.

The EATCS Award committee consisting of Artur Czumaj , Christos Papadimitriou and Jean-Eric Pin (chair) has selected Professor Noam Nisan (Hebrew University of Jerusalem); as the recipient of the EATCS Award 2018.



The Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation which was established in 2015 by the ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL) and the Kurt Gödel Society will be presented this coming July at the 25th International Colloquium on Automata, Languages, and Programming (ICALP) - 2018. I strongly encourage you to submit nominations for the award; the deadline is: March 1, 2017. Last but not least, the nominations deadline of Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is: March 15, 2018.

Also, please allow me to remind you that: ESA 2018, the 26th Annual European Symposium on Algorithms, which will be held on 20-22 August in Helsinki, Finland, has Submission deadline: 22 April 2018 MFCS 2018, the 43rd International Symposium on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science, which will be held on 27-31 August in Liverpool, UK, has Abstract submission deadline: Friday April 20th, 2018 and Paper submission deadline: Tuesday April 24th, 2018 DISC 2018, the 32nd International Symposium

on Distributed Computing which will be held on 16-18 October in New Orleans, USA, has Abstract registration: May 3, 2018 (AoE) and Full paper submission: May 12, 2018 (AoE)

As usual, let me close this letter by reminding you that you are always most welcome to send me your comments, criticisms and suggestions for improving the impact of the EATCS on the



theoretical-computer-science community at president@eatcs.org. We will consider all your suggestions and criticisms carefully. I look forward to hearing from you.

Paul Spirakis, President of EATCS, Liverpool, UK and Patras, Greece February 2018