REPORT FROM THE ITALIAN CHAPTER

T.Calamoneri (Sapienza University of Rome)

ICTCS 2014

The 15th Italian Conference on Theoretical Computer Science (ICTCS 2014) was held at the University of Perugia, Italy, from the 17th to the 19th of September 2014.

ICTCS is the conference of the Italian Chapter of the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science and, besides being a forum of exchange of ideas, it provides the ideal environment where junior researchers and Ph.D. students meet senior researchers. ICTCS 2014 is also open to researchers from outside Italy, who are welcome to submit papers and attend the Conference.

This year we have had 43 participants from China, Finland, France, India, Israel, Japan, Poland, Tunisia, Turkey, UK, USA and, of course, Italy.

The program has included the talks by the authors of 26 regular papers and by 3 invited speakers (Flavio Chierichetti, Rocco De Nicola and Giuseppe Liotta).

Out of the ordinary, ICTCS 2014 hosted a special session devoted to the memory of Alberto Bertoni, who passed away last February.

During the General Assembly of the Italian Chapter of EATCS, the University of Florence has been presented as host of the next edition of ICTCS: we welcome all of you to ICTCS 2015 in Florence!

IC-EATCS awards

As usual, during the conference, the President of the Italian Chapter gave up some awards.

Every year the Italian Chapter assigns an award for the two best Italian PhD theses in Theoretical Computer Science. For 2014, the Selection Committee, composed by professors Franco Barbanera (Univ. of Catania), Arturo Carpi (Univ. of Perugia) and Rossella Petreschi (Sapienza Univ. of Rome) selected as recipients of the award

Livio Bioglio (whose thesis is entitled *Type Disciplines for Systems Biology*)

and

Andrea Marino (whose thesis is entitled *Algorithms for biological graphs: analysis and enumeration*).

Furthermore, the award for the best young Italian researcher in Theoretical Computer Science has been established. The Selection Committee, composed by professors Mariangiola Dezani (Univ. of Turin), Raffaele Giancarlo (Univ. of Palermo) and Andrea Pietracaprina (Univ. of Padua) selected as recipient of this award

Flavio Chierichetti (Sapienza Univ. of Rome).

These three young researchers gave a talk to the ICTCS attendees describing their research area and summarizing their own results.

This year, the General Assembly decided to establish a new award, that will be given for the first time in 2015 and again every year, for the best Master Thesis in Theoretical Computer Science.

Appendix

Talks have been given in the following order:

- Giuseppe Liotta (invited talk). Graph Drawing Beyond Planarity: Some results and open problems.
- Stefano Mazzanti. Logspace computability and regressive machines.
- Arturo Carpi and Flavio D'Alessandro. Cerny-like problems for finite sets of words.
- Luca Bernardinello, Lucia Pomello and Stefania Rombolá. Orthomodular Algebraic Lattices Related to Combinatorial Posets.
- Marco Bernardo, Flavio Corradini and Luca Tesei. Timed Process Calculi: From Durationless Actions to Durational Ones.
- Chao Li, Liang Dou and Zongyuan Yang. A Metamodeling Level Transformation from UML Sequence Diagrams to Coq.
- Stefano Berardi, Paulo Oliva and Silvia Steila. Proving termination of programs having transition invariants of height omega.
- Antonio Bucciarelli, Alberto Carraro, Giordano Favro and Antonino Salibra.
 A graph-easy class of mute lambda-terms.
- Angelo Montanari, Marco Pazzaglia and Pietro Sala. Adding two equivalence relations to the interval temporal logic AB.
- Tomoyuki Yamakami. Structural Complexity of Multi-Valued Partial Functions Computed by Nondeterministic Pushdown Automata.
- Giovanna Lavado, Giovanni Pighizzini and Shinnosuke Seki. Operational State Complexity under Parikh Equivalence.

- Alessandra Cherubini and Andrzej Kisielewicz. Binary 3-compressible automata
- Bruno Guillon and Christian Choffrut. An algebraic characterization of unary two-way transducers.
- Tiziana Calamoneri and Blerina Sinaimeri. Relating threshold tolerance graphs to other graph classes.
- Flavio Chierichetti (Young Italian Researcher in Theoretical Computer Science Award 2014). Trace Complexity.
- Andrea Marino (Ph.D. thesis Award 2014). Algorithms for biological graphs: analysis and enumeration .
- Livio Bioglio (Ph.D. thesis Award 2014). Type Disciplines for Systems Biology .
- Rocco De Nicola (invide talk). A formal approach to autonomic systems programming: The SCEL Language.
- Laura Giordano, Valentina Gliozzi, Nicola Olivetti and Gian Luca Pozzato.
 Minimal models for Rational Closure in SHIQ.
- Roberto Mantaci, Paolo Massazza and Jean-Baptiste Yunes. An Efficient Algorithm for Generating Symmetric Ice Piles.
- Giulianella Coletti, Davide Petturiti and Barbara Vantaggi. Extendibility of Choquet rational preferences on generalized lotteries.
- Cosimo Vinci and Vittorio Biló. On the Stackelberg Fuel Pricing Problem.
- Gianlorenzo D'Angelo, Daniele Diodati, Alfredo Navarra and Cristina M. Pinotti.
 Optimal placement of storage nodes in a wireless sensor network.
- Soumen Nandi, Nitish Panigrahy, Mohit Agrawal, Sasthi Ghosh and Sandip Das. Efficient Channel Assignment for Cellular Networks Modeled as Honeycomb Grid.
- Mattia D'Emidio and Daniele Frigioni. Engineering Shortest-Path Algorithms for Dynamic Networks.
- Alberto Bertoni, Massimiliano Goldwurm, Jianyi Lin and Linda Pini. Sizeconstrained 2-Clustering in the Plane with Manhattan Distance.
- Minh Ngo and Fabio Massacci. Programmable Enforcement Framework of Information Flow Policies.
- Arman Boyaci, Tinaz Ekim, Mordechai Shalom and Shmuel Zaks. Graphs of Edge-Intersecting and Non-Splitting Paths.
- Alberto Casagrande and Eugenio Omodeo. Reasoning about Connectivity without Paths.
- Stefano Bistarelli, Martine Ceberio, Francesco Santini and Joel A. Henderson.
 Abstract Argumentation Frameworks to Promote Fairness and Rationality in Multi-Experts Multi-Criteria Decision Making.
- Andrea Formisano and Flavio Vella. On multiple learning schemata in conflict driven solvers.

THE ITALIAN CHAPTER

CHAIR: TIZIANA CALAMONERI
V.CHAIR: ANGELO MONTANARI
TREASURER: ALESSANDRA CHERUBINI

SECRETARY: UGO DE' LIGUORO

URL: http://eatcs.org/index.php/italian-chapter