THE PRESBURGER AWARD FOR YOUNG SCIENTISTS 2015

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

DEADLINE: 31 DECEMBER 2014.

Starting in 2010, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) established the Presburger Award. The Award is conferred annually at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers.

The Award is named after Mojżesz Presburger who accomplished his pathbreaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years at the time of the deadline of nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2015 the date of birth should be in 1979 or later). The Presburger Award Committee of 2015 consists of Zoltán Ésik (Szeged), Claire Mathieu (Paris), and Peter Widmayer (Zürich, chair). Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letters, should be sent by e-mail to:

Peter Widmayer widmayer@inf.ethz.ch

The subject line of every nomination should start with *Presburger Award 2015*, and the message must be received before **December 31st**, **2014**.

The award includes an amount of 1000 Euro and an invitation to ICALP 2015 for a lecture.

Previous Winners:

Mikołaj Bojańczyk, 2010	Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, 2011
Venkatesan Guruswami, 2012	Mihai Pătrașcu, 2012
Erik Demaine, 2013	David Woodruff, 2014

Official website: http://www.eatcs.org/index.php/presburger