NEWS FROM INDIA

BY

Madhavan Mukund

Chennai Mathematical Institute Chennai, India madhavan@cmi.ac.in

ICM 2010 The International Congress of Mathematicians was held in Hyderabad in August, 2010. This meeting happens every four years and is the occasion where the prestigious Fields Medals in Mathematics are awarded. In addition to the Fields Medals, other awards are also given at the ICM. In particular, the Rolf Nevanlinna prize for Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences has been awarded since 1982. Past winners of the prize are Robert Tarjan (1982), Leslie Valiant (1986), Alexander Razborov (1990), Avi Wigderson (1994), Peter Shor (1998), Madhu Sudan (2002) and Jon Kleinberg (2006).

The Nevanlinna Prize for 2010 was awarded to Daniel Spielman, Yale University, USA, for his work in smoothed analysis of linear programming, algorithms for graph-based codes and applications of graph theory to numerical computing.

Mysore Park Workshops As announced in the previous edition of *News from India*, a new series of workshops called the *Mysore Park Workshops* will take place at the Infosys campus in Mysore, about 140 km from Bangalore. These workshops are modelled on the Dagstuhl workshops. A significant attempt will be made to disseminate the discussion inside India, by inviting PhD students, young researchers and practitioners from India.

The first two workshops in the series have been announced. In October, 2010, there will be a workshop on *Recent Advances in Algorithms and Complexity* that will focus on the implications of results such a constructive proof of concentration bounds, an improved LP-based approximation for Steiner trees, QIP = PSPACE, hardness of precedence constrained scheduling and a constructive proof of the general Lovasz Local Lemma. The organisers are Manindra Agrawal (IIT Kanpur) and Kavita Tellekapalli (TIFR, Mumbai).

The second workshop, in February, 2011, called *The Chemistry of Concurrency and Distribution* will address issues arising in programming reliable distributed applications. The organisers are Madhavan Mukund (CMI, Chennai), Madan Musuvathi (MSR, Redmond) and Ganesh Ramalingam (MSR, Bangalore).

FSTTCS 2010 The 30th edition of FSTTCS, the annual conference of the Indian Association for Research in Computing Science (IARCS) will be held at the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai in December, 2010. The Programme Committee for FSTTCS 2010 is chaired by Kamal Lodaya and Meena Mahajan from the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai. The list of papers has been announced: 38 papers have been selected for presentation.

The invited speakers for FSTTCS 2010 are Rajeev Alur (U Penn, USA), Bruno Courcelle (LaBRI, Bordeaux, France), Pavel Pudlák (Math. Institute, Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic), Santosh Vempala (Georgia Tech, USA) and Wiesław Zielonka (LIAFA, Paris 7, France).

The conference is from December 15–18, 2010. Registration will open soon. The conference webpage is at http://www.fsttcs.org.

IPEC 2010 The Fifth International Symposium on Parameterized and Exact Computation (IPEC 2010, formerly IWPEC) will be held at the Institute of Mathematical Sciences in Chennai from December 13–15, 2010. IPEC 2010 is colocated with FSTTCS 2010. The Programme Committee for IPEC 2010 is chaired by Venkatesh Raman and Saket Saurabh from the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai.

The invited speakers for IPEC 2010 are Anuj Dawar (Cambridge, UK), Fedor Fomin (Bergen, Norway) and Toby Walsh (New South Wales, Australia).

The list of papers has been announced: 19 papers have been selected for presentation. The conference webpage is at http://www.imsc.res.in/ipec

Madhavan Mukund, Chennai Mathematical Institute Secretary, IARCS (Indian Association for Research in Computing Science) http://www.cmi.ac.in/~madhavan