Presburger Award for Young Scientists

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Deadline: December 31st, 2010

Starting in 2010, the European Association of Theoretical Computer Science established the **Presburger Award**, conferred annually at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming (ICALP) to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers.

The Award is named after Mojżesz Presburger who accomplished his pathbreaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929. In 2010 the Presburger Award was given to Mikołaj Bojańczyk (Warsaw) for his deep contributions to automata theory and to logic and algebra in computer science.

Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years at the time of the deadline of nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2011 the date of birth should be in 1975 or later).

The Presburger Award Committee of 2011 consists of Monika Henzinger (Vienna), Stefano Leonardi (Rome) and Andrzej Tarlecki (Warsaw, chair). Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letters (if any), should be sent to:

The Bulletin of the EATCS

Andrzej Tarlecki, Institute of Informatics, University of Warsaw, ul. Banacha 2, 02-097 Warsaw, Poland; or: tarlecki@mimuw.edu.pl.

by 31st December 2010.

The award includes an amount of $1000 \in$ and an invitation to ICALP 2011 for a lecture.

The Presburger Award is sponsored by BiCi, the Bertinoro international Center for informatics.